Hopefuls ready for the public to vote in elections

Lancashire County Hall in Preston
Lancashire County Hall in Preston
Share this article

A list of candidates hoping to represent the residents of South Ribble as councillors after next month’s elections has now been revealed.

Lancashire County Council (LCC) has received nominations from political parties of people wanting to represent eight different areas of the borough.

South Ribble Council is also holding a by-election to coincide with the county elections on May 2, after three councillors stepped down part way through their four-year terms.

Councillors representing the Leyland St Mary’s ward, Leyland St Ambrose and the Howick and Priory area handed in their resignations last month.

There are also elections taking place for Penwortham Town Council.

Candidates standing in Lancashire County Council elections:


Judith Davidson (Lib Dem)
David Duxbury (UKIP)
Ken Jones (Labour)
Mike Otter (Conservative)

Leyland Central

Gareth Armstrong (Lib Dem)
Lesley Duxbury (UKIP)
Caroline Moon (Conservative)
Matthew Tomlinson (Labour)

Leyland South West

Michael Green (Conservative)
Marion Hancock (Lib Dem)
Fred Heyworth (Labour)
Bernard Rodgers (UKIP)

Penwortham South

Renee Blow (Conservative)
Geoffrey Crewe (Lib Dem)
Sue Prynn (Labour)
Linda Rodgers (UKIP)

Penwortham North

Julie Buttery (UKIP)
Mike France (Conservative)
David Howarth (Lib Dem)
Robert Taylor (Labour)

Bamber Bridge and Walton-le-Dale

Peter Mullineaux (Conservative)
David Smithies (UKIP)
David Watts (Labour)

South Ribble Rural East

Neil Anyon (UKIP)
Cameron Crook (Labour)
Tom Sharratt (The Idle Toad)
Barrie Yates (Conservative)

South Ribble Rural West

Graham Gooch (Conservative)
Ann Holmes (UKIP)
David Moore (Lib Dem)
James Patten (Labour)

Candidates standing in South Ribble Borough Council by-elections:

Leyland St Mary’s

Charlotte Ashworth (Lib Dem)
Alan Ogilvie (Conservative)
Carole Titherington (Labour)

Leyland St Ambrose

Gareth Armstrong (Lib Dem)
Ken Jones (Labour)
Paul Wharton (Conservative)

Howick and Priory

David Duxbury (UKIP)
David Howarth (Lib Dem)
Robert Taylor (Labour)
Angela Turner (Conservative)

- The Leyland Guardian would like to speak to all candidates standing to represent Leyland residents in the upcoming elections.

Contact Kay Taylor on 01257 264911 before the end of the week to be included in next week’s candidate profiles.