Frankie stars as Euxton seal promotion

Euxton's Frankie Haasburg batting.
Euxton's Frankie Haasburg batting.
Share this article

Euxton’s two-wicket victory against Barnoldswick on Saturday confirmed the Balshaw Park outfit’s automatic promotion from Section B of the Ribblesdale League.

With a minor league reshuffle this summer, only the Section B winners are guaranteed promotion, with the runners-up Padiham facing a promotion/relegation play-off with Cherry Tree or Ramsbottom Cup winners Oswaldtwistle Immanuel this summer.

And Euxton made sure of top spot against Barlick, who had been prolific with the bat in recent weeks.

Kyle Marshall top-scored with 61 in the visitors’ 157 all out, as Chris Pearson took 2-18, Oliver Marsden 2-30, Louis Sweeney 2-26 and Matthew Johnson 2-9.

In reply, Euxton were indebted to an 82-ball 54 from Francois Haasbroek, as they got home off the final ball of the penultimate over, with three wickets to spare.

Euxton had been 10-2, after losing both openers Andrew Winrow without scoring, and Samuel Tolley for a single.

But Marsden (20) and Haasbroek shared 66 for the third wicket

The South African, who won the Lancashire League with Lowerhouse, fell at 98, but Mark Winrow (18) and Jacob Meredith (21) put on 39 for the sixth wicket, and Matthew Johnson (13 not out) and James Hill (6 not out) saw Euxton over the line.

Meanwhile, Brinscall ended another season of progress on and off the pitch with a 98-run defeat against Brooksbottom, who played their last Ribblesdale League game before joining the Greater Manchester League.

Brooksbottom totalled 175, as Ian Chaplin took 5-22, before Brinscall were dismissed for 77.

James McVitie hit 17 off 20 balls, and Phil Lowe finished unbeaten on 28 off 41 deliveries.