Reece runs riot as Leyland cruise into the semi-finals

Fleetwood's Joe Bell bowling to Leyland's Luis Reece in the Readers Cup quarter-final
Fleetwood's Joe Bell bowling to Leyland's Luis Reece in the Readers Cup quarter-final
Share this article

Lancashire ace Luis Reece stormed bagged his third century in a week and fired Leyland into the semi-finals of the 2015 Northern Premier Cricket League Readers Cup.

Reece opened the batting and put Fleetwood to the sword by notching eleven fours and four sixes on his way to a fine knock of 123. In-form Reece, who is just coming back from a hand injury, scored 101 for Lancashire seconds in a comprehensive victory over Leicestershire last week and added 113 in Leyland’s Northern Premier Cricket League Division One winning draw over Fleetwood on July, 25.

Reece’s second century in seven days against Fleetwood anchored Leyland’s innings allowing the hosts to post a total of 223-7.

The batsman took the reins after fellow opener Chris Parkinson was trapped lbw on nought after facing two balls from David King. Overseas amateur Richardt Frenz fell for two to King before Henry Thompson steadied the ship with Reece. Thompson was snared by Tom Wilson for 38 and Nathan McDonnell was cleaned bowled by Adam Sharrocks for three. Andrew Makinson added 18 and Karl Cross notched 21 before their wickets were captured by Ian Holland. Sharrocks ended Reece’s innings for 123 as he was caught by Joe Bell. Sam Holden, 8, and Jake Peake, 0, ensured Leyland made it to 40 overs with three wickets in tact. Fleetwood made a fine start in reply to Leyland’s impressive tally but Holland was run out for 41 and McDonnell toppled his opening partner King for 52.

Number three Dean Bell, 27 and Wilson, 21, formed a partnership but after Sam Oldham clean bowled Bell and David Makinson bagged Wilson’s wicket Leyland began to rifle through Fleetwood’s pack.

Of the final seven batsmen only Mat Clark reached double figures as Oldham, two for Jacques and two run outs clinched victory for Leyland.

l Leyland seconds advanced to the Northern Premier Cricket League Readers Cup Division Two final after cruising to a 173 run win over Penrith seconds.